How NC’s 2 Senate Seats Have Changed Hands Since the 1950s

History of US Senators from North Carolina: Frequent turnovers over 40 years. North Carolina does not put a great deal of stock in Senate incumbency.

Seat #1

Democrat Sam Ervin served from 1956 to 1974.

Democrat Robert Morgan served from 1974 to 1980.

Republican John East served from 1980 until he killed himself in 1985. Republican Jim Broyhill, a congressman, was appointed to fill his position.

Democrat Terry Sanford beat Broyhill and served from 1986 to 1992.

Republican Lauch Faircloth beat Sanford and served from 1992 to 1998.

Democrat John Edwards beat Faircloth and served from 1998 to 2004.

Republican Richard Burr served from 2004 to 2010, and was re-elected in 2010. He is up for re-election in 2016, and will be hard to beat.

Seat #2

Democrat B. Everett Jordan served from 1958 to 1972. He was defeated in a Democratic primary by Nick Galifianakis.

Republican Jesse Helms defeated Galifianakis in the 1972 election and served until 2002.

Republican Elizabeth Dole served from 2002 to 2008.

Democrat Kay Hagan beat Dole and served from 2008 to 2014.

Republican Tom Tillis beat Hagan and serves from 2014 to ?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: